e-theme come, e-theme go

03/13/06 at 7:30 am | Posted in Tech | 3 Comments

(Edited: Woops, my bad… I mixed up the name of my WordPress theme with the new one from the same designer. This theme I’m using is actually WP-Andreas09 1.5, not the new WP-Andreas01 theme designed by Andreas Viklund. Good thing Andreas pointed this out in his comment.

Am also reprinting Andreas’ comment here:

Hey there! Don’t mix up the themes. WP-Andreas01 has never been released, and definitely not been available on WordPress.com. I am just about to release it now, the first public release. And Ainslie has not built it, it is my own. I suspect that you mean WP-Andreas09, which was designed by me and ported to WordPress by Ainslie Johnson, as it is available on WordPress.com since a few weeks ago. It is a stable and well tested theme, soon coming out in version 2.0.

So you have one theme on this site (WP-Andreas09), and the quote taken from my site is another theme (WP-Andreas01). I hope to get 01 added to WordPress.com too, but that is all up to Matt and the keymasters. =) Should I choose a less confusing name?

Here is an example of WP-Andreas01 running live: http://elven.nu

Thanks, Andreas!)

I really like this three-column WordPress template I’m using, the WP-Andreas01 WP-Andreas09 1.5 theme designed by Andreas Viklund and ported to WordPress by Ainslie Johnson.

A few hours ago, however, the theme became unavailable due to technical difficulties and my blog reverted to the default WordPress template, which of course made everything look jumbled up. So please bear with the site if that happens.

This is just to be expected because this is a very new WordPress theme. In fact, Andreas has a new theme, WP-Andreas01. Here’s Andreas’ March 12 post:

After a great response to my last post and a long night of theme coding, it is now time to let you see the WP-Andreas01 WordPress theme live! It is still not 100% ready, I am aware of some errors that I will fix soon. But I would still like to ask for comments and bug reports, as I am hoping to release version 1.0 of this theme tomorrow — after I’ve had a few people try it out on their own servers. The test site is located at dev.andreasviklund.com. If you check it out, please start by reading the latest blog post there.

So, yup, this is hot off the grill. I don’t know about you, but I don’t mind trying out something new and living with the risks of beta testing, as long as I believe it’s a cool product or service. So check out WP-Andreas01.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey there! Don’t mix up the themes. WP-Andreas01 has never been released, and definitely not been available on WordPress.com. I am just about to release it now, the first public release. And Ainslie has not built it, it is my own. I suspect that you mean WP-Andreas09, which was designed by me and ported to WordPress by Ainslie Johnson, as it is available on WordPress.com since a few weeks ago. It is a stable and well tested theme, soon coming out in version 2.0.

    So you have one theme on this site (WP-Andreas09), and the quote taken from my site is another theme (WP-Andreas01). I hope to get 01 added to WordPress.com too, but that is all up to Matt and the keymasters. =) Should I choose a less confusing name?

    Here is an example of WP-Andreas01 running live: http://elven.nu

  2. hey andreas, thanks for visiting my blog and for pointing that out. edited my post to clear that up.

    cheers,
    joey

  3. Thanks! You are not the first person to mix up the themes and you will not be the last, this happens all the time. It is my own fault, since I didn’t give the original open source website templates unique names. I will do that from now on, to make it a bit easier to separate them from eachother.

    Just to make it even more confusing: Did you notice the new theme here on WordPress.com? It is called Andreas04 (without the “WP-” this time) and it is based on another of my templates – ported by yet another designer.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

