open source rules

03/9/06 at 1:57 pm | Posted in Tech | 3 Comments

I’ve been thinking for some time of migrating my Blogger blog to WordPress because I’m really impressed with this open source application and I’ve been using it for the Asian Gaming Journalists Association homepage and INQ7 @ 5 Anniversary Blog.

Well, my fellow tech journalist Erwin Oliva decided to move to WordPress, encouraging me to do the same while we were talking via Google Chat last Thursday, so I figured what the heck, might as well set up a WordPress blog and import my Blogger posts. I have admit, it’s kind of hard to go back to Blogger once you’ve gotten used to WordPress.

I do miss my old template though, since I’d have to download WordPress and have it hosted somewhere instead of using this version if I really want to fully customize my blog. But still, this might be my virtual home from now on.

We’ll see.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. hahaha, welcome to WordPress,man….open source!

  2. Have you ever been to ‘you tube’? they let you host videos there and you can hotlink them on your blogs. it’s really cool and you don’t have to bandwidth on the videos, cause its free.

  3. Hello Joey,
    Small world, I was surfing blogging the top 100 blog site and went back to Von Totanes Filipino Librarian and click his topic Certified Blogging addict and now directed to you. Anyway, I post a comment/reply to You on line blog of inq7.net. Did you attend the 2nd iBlog Summit?I was looking for Erwin Oliva because I was looking for archives of Sony Valdez at inq7.net, I remember Erwin as the journalist who interview my son a few years back. Just like you, my second son Cyber, introduce me to WordPress and now I enjoy using it. I call my personal blog http://rich.pinoyforum.net, my new baby. Reason I asked Rebecca of globalvoices.com at the iBlog summit, what’s the differnce between a blog and a forum? My kids told me when we went home that it was the selliest question you asked to a journalist, sabi bunso ko parang tinanong nyo ano ang ang pagkakaiba ng tubig sa pagkain o mangga.
    Visit my kids site at http://www.pinoyforum.net
    Congrats and God Bless.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

