the three microsofteers

11/4/05 at 5:02 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Took this picture with my K700i during the 2nd Innovative Teachers Leadership Awards (ITLA) held Oct. 27 at the Grand Ballroom of Crowne Plaza Hotel.

The three Microsoft Philippines execs in the photo are (l-r) Mark Yambot, Sam Jacoba and Mae Rivera-Moreno. I’ve known Sam for years — he’s the founding president of the IT Journalists Association of the Philippines, which is better known as CyberPress.

Sam was the one who recruited me to become a member of CyberPress, back when I was still starting out as an IT journalist as a staff writer of Metropolitan Computer Times, and he was still the editor of Tech Advisor. Heck, we were among the “Vietnam stragglers” who were stranded in Ho Chi Minh City because of a Philippine Airlines strike when we covered the Sun Microsystems Asia South press symposium.

ITLA is a Microsoft Partners in Learning program, and the five winners who were announced that night — Cecilia Estoque (Agusan National High School), Maria Cecilia Correa (Manila Science High School), Christie Anne Dagamac (Ipil National High School), Francisco Garcia (Manila Science High School) and Evelyn Manahan (Iligan City East High School) — will represent the Philippines in the upcoming 2nd Asian Regional Innovative Teachers’ Conference in South Korea.

Read Erwin Oliva’s INQ7 Infotech story for more on the awards night.


Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: