a smoke-free year

02/22/05 at 3:22 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 7 Comments

You know, with all the things I’ve been doing lately, what with the upcoming INQ7 anniversary and all, I forgot to blog that Saturday, February 19, marked the first anniversary of my decision to quit smoking, cold turkey.

Hmm, good thing I didn’t celebrate the occasion by lighting up a ciggie, hehe. Where are Constantine’s fags when you need them? And he was a Brit in the comic book series, OK, so fag means something else. Dunno about Keanu’s fags though, heh.

I haven’t seen the movie yet, though I hear it’s pretty good, even if comic book fans won’t forgive it for turning Constantine into an American and setting the film in LA. Of course, I was outraged myself when I first heard they were casting Keanu as JC and turning him into a Yank as a result — hey, I stopped collecting but I was a huge Hellblazer fan.

But I’m trying to keep an open mind.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congratulations on breaking the smoking habit. I also quit smoking 5 years ago before I got married, but I always tell my wife that without my vices I’d be perfect. I have been smoke free ever since and need to be more now that I’m a family man.

    About Constantine, I remember reading the comic book, especially the time when he was on “taong grasa” mode – always drunk and smoking, asking for a spare dime. That was really good.

  2. thanks jgotangco! good for you!

    yup, i remember that storyline, hehe… and boy did he, ah, piss off the king of the friggin’ vampires hehehe πŸ™‚

  3. I’m sorry, but Constantine without Silk Cuts just doesn’t do it for me. After fresh, pink lungs from the devil himself, how could he not fill it up with black smoke again? Besides, all the f-words won’t be the same without a Brit accent. You know how much I hated Keanu in Much Ado and I’ve never changed my mind.

  4. hi pauline!

    ah yes, much ado — that brings back memories hehe. but you do have to admit keanu’s “it cannot be denied that i am a villain” shtick was a lot better than johnny mnemonic’s “room service” and, god, everything he did in dracula.

    yeah, it’s hard to imagine constantine not saying “sod off” and “wanker.” at least i hope we won’t hear keanu telling the first of the fallen, “dude! you suck!” hehehe πŸ™‚

  5. Ahhh! I wanted to give him the benefit of the doubt but Keanu’s acting is so bad, even his smoking looks fake. (For a good example, check out Mel Gibson in “Payback”. While watching it I had the urge to light up, goddamn it.)

    Seriously, sorry Joey but “Constantine” was boring. Though I’ve only read a couple of Hellblazer, he made a great impression on me in Books of Magic. Now THAT was bad-ass. (And not the piss-poor asshole shtick of Keanu.)

    Btw, I heard Allan Moore originally thought of Sting when he thought of Constantine.

  6. hehe, that bad, huh, banzai? πŸ™‚

    yup, jc was originally a character in moore’s swammp thing and he was based on sting.

    which gives sting the distinction of inspiring two literary characters, ‘coz anne rice said she based lestat on sting.

  7. Well, maybe not that bad. πŸ˜€ He had at least one good scene near the end.

    Tell me what you think afer you watch it, ok? πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

